facebook pixel code
Mailto Icon

Congratulations, OKL!

OKL magazine wins co-op journalism award for second straight year 

Congratulations, OKL!

OKL Editor Anna Politano accepts the 2017 Haggard Award from NRECA CEO Jim Matheson. Photo by Dennis Gainer/NRECA


The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) named Oklahoma Living, a publication of the Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives, the winner of the 2017 George W. Haggard Memorial Journalism Award. 

Oklahoma Living also won the 2016 Haggard award, making the magazine the first back-to-back winner in more than 25 years. The award was presented at NRECA’s annual meeting in Nashville, Tennessee. 

The George W. Haggard Memorial Journalism Award is an annual honor presented by NRECA recognizing an electric cooperative statewide consumer publication that best presents “lucid, forthright contributions to electric cooperatives objectives.” The award is named for George W. Haggard, first editor of the Texas statewide publication, who was killed in a plane crash in 1951. 

NRECA CEO Jim Matheson congratulated magazine editor Anna Politano and the entire magazine staff. 

“Oklahoma Living showcases the value of relevant local journalism while doing an outstanding job of highlighting the cooperative principles through compelling coverage and engaging content,” Matheson says. 

“Statewide publications are an effective communications tool to reach co-op members. I’m proud of the Oklahoma Living staff for their commitment and dedication to continue improving the magazine each month. Receiving the respected George W. Haggard Memorial Journalism Award is a testament to their hard work,” says Chris Meyers, general manager of the Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives. “This publication is well-regarded by readers across the state and does an outstanding job at conveying the cooperative message.” 

From left to right: OKL Publisher, Sid Sperry; OAEC Director of Member Services, Stacy Howeth; OKL Marketing Specialist, Shannen McCroskey; OKL Editor, Anna Politano; OAEC General Manager, Chris Meyers; OKL Multimedia Specialist, Hayley Leatherwood and OKL Freelancer, Grant Leatherwood. Photo by Dennis Gainer/NRECA 

“We are honored and humbled to be named the 2017 George W. Haggard recipient. Since its establishment in 1948, Oklahoma Living’s mission has been to communicate the values of rural electric cooperatives. Each year, we continue to evolve to better serve co-op member-owners throughout the state,” says Anna Politano, editor of Oklahoma Living magazine. “It takes a lot of team work to produce a publication that is effective and endearing to its audience. I’m proud of each Oklahoma Living contributor for their passion and hard work.” 

Judges selected Oklahoma Living based on the strong, consistent, and positive voice that Oklahoma Living carries for electric co-ops. OKL Article End